So yeah… I’ve been somewhat slacking in the blog department.  I went away with my family on a little vacation to a small island in the Gulf and got away from my newly developed twice weekly blog habit…

It’s amazing how quickly we can revert back to the land of the lazy.

Granted, I’ve been very busy with work and family, but on the whole I’ve been somewhat disorganized since my return.  A week in a hammock can do that to a guy, I suppose.

What I’m getting at is this:  Christianity has to be something that we work at DAILY, if not hourly.  Our natural inclination is to do whatever offers the least resistance.  It’s why sitting on the couch is more appealing than mowing the lawn.  It’s why winging it is more appealing than devoting time to preparation.  It’s why checking espn.com is more appealing than reading the Bible.

But in truth.. what does our natural inclination gain us?  Nothing.  Nothing at all.

Adhering to the tenets of Christianity demands that we struggle against ourselves as well as against the world that seeks to be our undoing.  And if you are losing the battle against yourself, you have no chance when it comes to fighting the world.

Can you do it alone?  No.  If you rely on yourself to be both the general and the private in this battle, you’re doomed to fail.  It’s the truth.  But if you allow the general to lead you, the private, you are destined to succeed.  

Proverbs 3:5-6 5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart 
   and lean not on your own understanding; 
6 in all your ways submit to him, 
   and he will make your paths straight.

When I DO lean on my own understanding.. my road map looks like a plate of spaghetti, and I’m willing to bet you’rs does too.

