Now if by grace, then it is not by works; otherwise grace ceases to be grace.
-Romans 11:6

One of the things most talked about, in regards to Christianity, is Grace, but to a lot of people this is nothing more than talk.  

Grace, by definition, is unmerited favor.  God’s grace is what saves us.  
And there is nothing we can do about that.  

That’s fine and good, but it’s tough to believe in it or understand it if you don’t know what it looks like on a “me” level.

So why do I bring this up now?  Oddly enough; School drop off.  The bane of most parental morning routines.  For a good portion of the parents I see every morning when I drop Lily off, this daily event is loaded with stress and anxiety.  

Personally, I LOVE school drop off time.  

I’m extremely fortunate in that I get to really enjoy the time I have with Lily in the mornings.  Our drive to school rocking out to Switchfoot or Crowder is like a mini-concert.  Once we get to her school, we spend a few minutes in my car with her on my lap talking about anything she wants to talk about.  When we get into her school, there is time left over to read her a book or we play with her friends.  In short, Lily and I have a lot of fun in the morning. 

 Most of the parents I come into contact with don’t seem to enjoy this time of day as much as I do.. I don’t know why that is and I’m not going to try to analyze it.  I just know that for me, it’s a great way to start my day.

But I digress…   

After Lily went into her class this morning, as I was dodging waist high linebackers on my way to the parking lot, I started thinking about grace…  I don’t know why it popped into my head, but I went with it and started considering how God shows His grace and how we react to it.

I drove out of the lot and there are a few intersections you have to clear as you leave, and this morning the car in front of me slowed at an intersection to let one car in to the school and one car out of it.. 

This was a situation where there was nothing either of the drivers could have done that would make the driver ahead of me decide to let them in our out.  They had made the decision to let them go well before they could see their faces and well before either would have an opportunity to plead their case via a wave, a pointing finger or a facial expression.   

As I got closer I could see that  the lady driving the inbound car was, by all appearances, stressed to the max (No none is letting me in!!!).  The lady in the outbound car was frustrated to no end (No one is letting me out!!!).  

The car in front of me came to a stop:

– The lady coming in got a huge smile on her face, waved frantically and turned into the school drop off line.

– The lady going out looked the other direction and pulled out with no acknowledgement of what was done on her behalf.

They needed mercy.  They received grace.  They accepted it.  They reacted to it.

If you’ve accepted grace, do you acknowledge it with a smile, a wave and an appreciation for what was done?  Or do you instead just go on like nothing out of the ordinary was done at all?

You see, it’s our reaction to God’s grace is what sets us apart.  

If you are genuinely appreciative of God’s grace, you will acknowledge what He has done.  If you’re not appreciative of it, you don’t acknowledge it and you just go about life as usual.  It’s that simple.

We are all at God’s mercy.  He shows grace.  Do you accept it?  If so, then how do you react to it? 

IHS,

Rob

