So I had to stop at the store last night on the way home for the usual mid-week “we’re out of WHAT?!” run.  My store of choice at 10:30PM is, of course,  Wal-Mart and you know what goes down at that place in the evenings.  

So I armed myself with excuses and an angry face and made my way from my car to the store.  Surprisingly, I didn’t have to dodge anyone or sidestep and bodies and/or slimy things on my way in.

So it’s a good trip to shankville so far, I’m thinking.. 

I got my various things (bananas, oatmeal, almond milk – you know, things every dad of 3 little squids runs out of by Wednesday) and was taken by three things.. 
1) the lack of people in the store
2) the QUALITY of those that were there. (we’ve all seen people of walmart, right?)
3) the vast amount of snacky foods that were being purchased by the small amount of people. (check todays date, subtract 1 and come up with your own reason)

So I was cruising the aisles, unaccosted and happy.. i checked out rather quickly and was met with wonderful customer service at the register.  

As I was leaving the store, I saw a rough looking guy approaching a few people walking towards the entrance.  

One dude had a cross tattoo on his arm.. he quickly brushed the guy aside.
A girl, with a cross on a necklace shrunk away from the guy and couldn’t move fast enough to get clear of him.
Another guy made his way to the far entrance, so as not to have to deal with it…

“So here we go” i thought..

Then.. I surprised myself.  As the guy noticed me and his eyes met mine, I greeted him with “What’s up, man.. whatcha need?”

He didn’t know what to say…  So I repeated myself.. “How can I help?  What’s up?”

He just kind of looked at me, and told me he was homeless.. he had a car, but no gas and he and his wife were just trying to get downtown, to go to the shelter.  He said he hadn’t showered in 3 days, that he just wanted to lay down and not worry about anything for a night.

I told him it was his lucky day, he stumbled upon a Christian.  I said “Let’s play a game… I have no idea how much money I have in my wallet, but whatever is in there is yours”

This could have gone any one of a number of ways.. I truly had no idea if i had zero or 40 bucks in there..

I opened my wallet and lo and behold, there was three dollars.  I handed it to him and said “It’s not much, but it’s all I have, and it’s all you need to get to the shelter”

He thanked me, still kind of unsure of what had just happened… and I asked him if he knew Jesus Christ.. He said he didn’t know much about him so I encouraged him to learn.  (I wish I had an extra bible in my car to give him, but for the first time in a while, I didn’t.)

When I was well on my way home, I realized I still had a dollar in my wallet.  I DIDN’T give him everything I had.. and I feel pretty bad about that.  

When you grow close to Christ, sin HURTS.  but even more than that, it weighs on you very heavily when you don’t give everything you have for His purpose.

Granted, i didn’t give it all due to a genuine ignorance of how much I carried in my wallet… but that’s not an excuse.  All of us, at all times, need to do a personal inventory to see how much we truly have to give.  And when the opportunity arrives, we need to give it all in His honor.. in His name. 

We don’t always have the opportunity to put God’s word in people’s hands.. but we can CREATE the opportunities to put God’s Son in their minds and hearts.

We are Christ’s hands and feet on Earth.. let’s start building and walking.

Romans 12:1
1 Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God — this is your spiritual act of worship.

IHS,

Rob

