I have a confession to make…

I CAN’T STAND unloading the dishwasher.  

I can’t tell you why, exactly, that I feel this way.  I mean, I love the dishwasher itself and all the amazing things it does.  I love how with minimal effort on my part it takes something that was dirty and makes it clean.  And I have 3 kids under 5 years old, so when I say dirty.. I mean REALLY dirty.  

Green bean remnants, crusty mashed potatoes, applesauce and yogurt all over plates and on the outside of sippy cups.. it ALL goes away once it’s put in the dishwasher.

But then once it’s clean, I can’t stand the process of unloading the the stupid dishwasher.

Oooh, see what happened there?  

Lets change a few words around and see where we can take this.

_________________________________________________

“I CAN’T STAND being a Christian.

I can’t tell you why, exactly, that I feel this way.  I mean, I love Jesus and all the amazing things he’s done.  I love how with minimal effort on my part he takes something that was dirty and makes it clean.  And I had lots of skeletons in my closet, so when I say dirty.. I mean REALLY dirty.  

Drug residue, lies I’ve told, personal misconduct, violence and scars from a life lived outside of His will all over my soul and covering my skin… it ALL went away once my faith was put in Jesus Christ.  

But now that I’m clean, I can’t stand the process of living by the the stupid rules.”

_________________________________________________

As a husband and father, I’m called to do my part, to finish the tasks that I’ve started so that our life as a family moves along with relatively few hiccups.  I’m called to do my part because it’s what I signed up for when i said “I do!”.  I’m called to do my part because I love my wife and children so much I don’t want to imagine my life without them.

As Christians, we’re called to do our part, to finish the task that we’ve started so that our lives as followers of Christ move along with relatively few stumbles.  We’re called to do our part because it’s what we signed up for when we said “I believe!”.  We’re called to do our part because we love our savior so much we can’t imagine life without Him.

2 Timothy 4:7 7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

Simply put:  It’s time to unload the dishwasher.  

