I hear that a lot from people, actually..  If not in words, then certainly through their actions.

2 Timothy 3:16-17   
16All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

If we use the Bible not only for the purpose of knowing our Savior but also for DAILY rules on living, we tend to live much more positive, upbeat and drama-free lives.When confronted with something that could be viewed as unpopular, if you use His Word to guide your decisions and actions, you will be justified in your final solution.  Sometimes, not by those who the decision may affect, but certainly in the eyes of God.

What we wrestle with, from that point on, is “Who do I want to please?”  Do I want to be the popular youth leader who is everybody’s friend… or do i want to be the youth leader who does what is best for the group according to the Word of God?

It’s a tougher call than you think it might be.  

Innately, I want to be liked by everybody.  I’m a people person… I’m in ministry to SERVE.  Often that can be equated, falsely, to being a people pleaser.

By serving, I am here to guide, to lead, to counsel, to correct, to teach and to love.  I can’t have any selfish desires, at all, if I am to serve Jesus Christ.

What I want to do is not always what I am called to do and what I am called to do is not always what I want to do  I think you get the point.

Being the guy in the office means you have to make tough decisions daily, decisions that frequently can cause people to get upset.  The beauty of it though, is that with The Bible, you never have to make those decisions alone.  No matter what situation you’re facing, a precedent has been set… it’s just up to us to follow it.

IHS,

Rob

